Sign up for our news and updates and get free domestic standard shipping on your orders.

Sign up for our news and updates and get free domestic standard shipping on your orders.

Subscribe Now

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Mary's Idea

Two-time Caldecott Medal winner Chris Raschka captures the sound, passion, innovation, and love of the arts that the renowned jazz pianist Mary Lou Williams shared with the world. Mary's Idea is a stunning and transporting picture book about music and the creative process, for readers of Trombone Shorty and Chris Raschka's acclaimed books about musicians, including Charlie Parker Played Be Bop and Mysterious Thelonious.

At the age of three, Mary Lou Williams taught herself how to play the piano. At the age of fifteen, she was considered a professional. An American jazz pianist and composer, Mary Lou Williams wrote hundreds of compositions, recorded hundreds of songs, and wrote arrangements for musicians, including Duke Ellington and Benny Goodman.

Mary's Idea is an exquisite picture book about Mary Lou Williams, an artist often overlooked in the canon of American music because of her gender and skin color. With a text full of rhythm and movement and illustrations that sing off the page, Chris Raschka's picture book is equal parts a biography and a celebration of the imagination and creative process.

Includes backmatter.

- Chris Raschka
- 32 pages
- 9.3 inches W x 10 inches L
- Hardcover
- Greenwillow Books
- Ages 4 and up
- 2023
- Children's
- Item #: 978-0063210509

Search